Programming and Time

· muchomuchacho


Experience

Originally, when I decided to focus my career towards programming and eventually into Machine Learning research, I was led to believe that the path laid out for me was mostly predefined: Get started with coding, learn enough, gather some experience and then move on to review, manage or direct others. This was not just shockingly false, but also thankfully a growing trend in the opposite direction. It turns out that individuals that actually have some degree of passion for programming or research in the computer world can grow to much higher levels of proficiency, efficiency and satisfaction than it is commonly thought. In commemoration of this fact let me share some reflections as an older programmer/researcher looking back:


"No programmer who continues to grow need fear the future." --Daniel Read (This also applies to Computational Research)